• Home
  • Events
  • Imperial Shuttlers collect their victory in style

Imperial Shuttlers collect their victory in style


The Imperial College Badminton Team became undefeated “Champions” at the APIIT Extravaganza - Inter-University Badminton Team Championships organized by APIIT which was held at the SSC indoor stadium in Colombo on the 2nd November 2019. The Imperial College shuttlers managed to defeat the universities of SLIIT, IIT, APIIT, and the Open University team.⁣

The champion team from Imperial College was led by Bhagya Ranasinghe followed up by Upuli Weerasinghe, Kavindika De Silva, Elisha Rodgrigo, T.M. Pussalla, Devon De Vesser, Hiruna Sankalpa and Virajith Hapukinna. The team comprised of students from both branches of Kandy and Colombo branches.⁣


The tournament was scheduled to have five games per one match where the most number of victories between two universities won, out of the five games progressed through to the next stage. Imperial College started its road to victory by defeating SLIIT in the first match of the group. Next up Imperial faced IIT in their second group stage match which they also managed to win quite easily as they did in the first. The Imperial shuttlers won the Women’s doubles and the 3 mixed double matches in both group stage matches played progressing into the semi-finals stamping their authority in the early stages itself.
The two semi-finals were battled out between Imperial College and APIIT teams in the first semifinal, while the Open University team and SLIIT clashed in the second semifinal. Imperial College and the Open University team managed to progress comfortably into the finals as the losers played the consolation final.⁣


The final turned out to be one-way traffic yet again as Imperial managed to win the Women’s doubles and two mixed double matches to clinch the Extravaganza trophy. In the Women’s Doubles, Upuli Weerasinghe and Kavindika De Silva defeated their counterparts 21/13 and 21/14 while Bhagya Ranasinghe and Kavindika De Silva won the first mixed double 21/16 and 21/15. The second mixed double was won by Devon De Vesser and Upuli Weerasinghe with scores of 21/17 and 21/15.


Categories | EVENT Date | November 02, 2019